RoD header


korn theparadigmshift
Artist: Korn
Title: The Paradigm Shift
Genre: Metal / Rock
Release Date: 4th October 2013
Label: Capitol (Universal)

Album Review

We’ve all missed KORN, haven’t we? Not that they have been absent, they’ve most certainly been about however, their credibility has lacked due to trying out different directions. It’s these choices that have faltered and in the process, have undoubtedly lost a good deal of their original fan base. Lest we forget those days of the eponymous album, ‘Follow The Leader’, ‘Issues’ and ‘Life is Peachy’. ‘The Paradigm Shift’ is back to form. The sound reflects those earlier days. The blistering guitar riffs, the visceral lyrics and an explosive Jonathan Davis is all here; a paradigm it most certainly is. Another face from the past is Brian “Head” Welch, so the family is back and fiercer than ever. These are exciting times for KORN and loyal KORN fans.

The record kicks off with the tempestuous ‘Prey For Me’, it erupts without warning and it forms a violent crescendo, almost like a “we’re back” statement with a kick in the teeth. The second track, ‘Love and Meth’ continues with the ferocity and by the end of the third track, ‘What We Do’, you’ll be assured that they are indeed back and before you know, your hand will form into that two-horned symbol that we all know of. With delight, the LP lacks the lukewarm hip-hop influences that they have tried in the past. ‘Never Never’ is quite possibly the only pop-infused song on the album, despite that, it still has some great KORN qualities. Davis and co. really hit the amps on ‘Punishment Time’, it’s the track that significantly embraces the old KORN. It feels as though it could fit in on ‘Life is Peachy’, yes, it’s that good. At times, you can’t help the nostalgia but ‘The Paradigm Shift’ not only commiserates their earlier music, it also pushes forward with an ‘old-new’ sentiment.

Are KORN back? You bet your ass they are! You’ll be following the leader again in no time.


01. Prey For Me
02. Love and Meth
03. What We Do
04. Spike In My Veins
05. Mass Hysteria
06. Paranoid and Aroused
07. Never Never
08. Punishment Time
09. Lullaby For A Sadist
10. Victimized
11. It’s All Wrong


Jonathan Davis – Vocals
Brian ‘Head’ Welch – Guitar
James ‘Munky’ Schaffer – Guitar
Reginald ‘Fiedly’ Arvizu – Bass
Ray Luzier – Drums

Websites /

Cover Picture

korn theparadigmshift


Music: 9
Sound: 9
Total: 9 / 10

Comments powered by CComment