RoD header


volbeat livefrombeyondhell
Artist: Volbeat
Title: Live From Beyond Hell/Above Heaven
Genre: Rock
Release Date: 25th November 2011
Label: Universal Music

DVD Review

The career of VOLBEAT indeed can be compared to that one of a rising star. They appeared like out of thin air and with their first album, called 'The Strengths / The Sound / The Songs' they've established a monument for themselves when it got released back in 2005 in their native Denmark. Also their following second one 'Rock The Rebel / Metal The Devil' from 2007 came like a bombshell out of nowhere and strengthened the band's reputation as a force in the Rock scene to be reckoned with and proved it with every album anew. Their latest one is called 'Beyond Hell/Above Heaven' and on a late day in last year's November a show in Copenhagen was filmed and the corresponding DVD is now out since Friday.

It all starts with a grey view on nothing. Don't know if it' just bad image quality or if the venue was filled with too much fog so that it ultimately greyed the picture. Anyway, soon the classical intro sounds that announces the band's coming. By the time they get on stage they're still hid by a curtain which drops the moment 'The Mirror And The Ripper' kicks off the show. Right from the start you can see there's energy floating around in the venue. The fans are almost going insane to each of the tracks, may it be '16 Dollars', 'Guitar Gangsters & Cadillac Blood' or 'Who They Are'. While the crowd practices rock till you drop in front of the stage, the band themselves are keeping it comparatively slow, as in moving not too much which mostly goes for Poulsen. The show was filmed with 11 cameras altogether which provides a good view on everything that's happened during the show. Cuts aren't too fast to see anything and the director knew when to switch views to get the desired effect.

The video bitrate of the show could've been a little higher. Even on a standard SD TV you can see video artefacts here and there. The second DVD holds a performance filmed at the House Of Blues in Anaheim. Shorter than the main but not necessarily less energetic! The band rocks, the fans rock, everyone rocks. Second performance is from German festival Rock am Ring with probably the largest audience ever seen. Last but not least there's a goodie called 'Beyond The Scenes' with all involved persons and guests having their say. All in all, fans get the complete live experience of VILBEAT and If you prefer Hi-Def there's a Blu-Ray edition out as well.


Disc 1:
01. Intro
02. The Mirror And The Ripper
03. Maybellene I Hofteholder
04. Hallelujah Goat
05. 16 Dollars
06. Heaven Nor Hell
07. Guitar Gangsters & Cadillac Blood
08. Who They Are
09. Evelyn
10. Mary Ann's Place
11. Sad Man's Tongue
12. We
13. 7 Shots
14. Pool Of Booze, Booze, Booza/BOA                     
15. A Warrior's Call
16. The Gardens Tale
17. Fallen
18. Thanks
19. The Human Instrument

Disc 2:
House Of Blues, Anaheim, CA
01. A Moment Forever / Hallelujah Goat
02. Radio Girl
03. Angelfuck
04. Mr. & Mrs. Ness
05. Still Counting
06. Pool Of Booze, Booze, Booza/BOA
07. I Only Wanna Be With You

Rock am Ring, Nürburgring, Germany
08. Sad Man's Tongue
09. Mary Ann's Place
10. Still Counting
11. Beyond The Scenes


Michael Poulsen - lead vocals, rhythm guitar
Anders Kjølholm - bass guitar, backing vocals
Jon Larsen - drums, percussion
Thomas Bredahl - lead guitar, backing vocals

Website  /

Cover Picture

volbeat livefrombeyondhell


Concert: 8
Audio: 8
Video: 6
Extras: 7
Total: 7.6 / 10

Comments powered by CComment