Search Event Tickets


Buy Music & Merch!

Nuclear Blast Online Shop


Event Calendar

December 2021
29 30 1 2 3 4 5
6 7 8 9 10 11 12
13 14 15 16 17 18 19
20 21 22 23 24 25 26
27 28 29 30 31 1 2

Latest Events

No events
volbeat2021 credit RossHalfinFinally, the wait is over: The Danish multi-platinum Rockers VOLBEAT announce their eighth studio album, ‘Servant of the Mind’, which will be released on December 3, 2021 via Universal Music. The new record will be released as a standard CD, deluxe double vinyl (in several limited editions) and a deluxe digital version. Pre-order the album at

For ‘Servant of the Mind’ VOLBEAT - consisting of Michael Poulsen (guitar / vocals), Jon Larsen (drums), Rob Caggiano (guitar) and Kaspar Boye Larsen (bass) - once again combine their unique mix of Heavy Metal, Psychobilly and Punk ‘n’ Roll with Poulsen’s flair for stories and his skills as an exceptional songwriter.

“I wrote the whole record in three months,” recalls the front man. “I was doing well at home, I was in a good mood, my audience was myself… The new songs contain a lot of what VOLBEAT has always made. If you compare the very first album with what we are doing now, you will hear how the band has developed its style and at the same time has retained its ‘signature sound’.”

To announce the album, VOLBEAT are launching a new single into the world: In the anthemic ‘Shotgun Blues’, Poulsen tells of ghostly experiences when moving into a new home. “Every time you move into a house, you bring dead people with you,” he explains. “Sometimes really strange stuff happens to me ... not entirely from this world.” Watch the ‘Shotgun Blues’ lyrics video:

The album also contains the double hit of the two summer songs ‘Wait A Minute My Girl’ ‘and ‘Dagen Før’ (feat. Stine Bramsen), which VOLBEAT released in June. The former even became the band’s ninth number one single on the Billboard mainstream Rock charts.

In many of the new songs, VOLBEAT tell elaborate and fascinating stories. ‘The Sacred Stones’, for example, reports on an “earthly being who has given up on the dark side. It is now following a mission and comes into contact with dark forces and fallen angels.” The piece ‘The Devil Rages’ deals with the idea that the devil takes a human form. The opening track ‘Temple of Ekur’, on the other hand, returns to the ancient themes already featured in earlier songs such as ‘The Gates of Babylon’, while ‘Lasse’s Birgita’, the epic ending to the record, is about the first reported witch burnings in Sweden in 1471.

VOLBEAT can already look back on a two-decade career, during which they were able to share the stage with genre legends such as BlACK SABBATH, METALLICA, MOTÖRHEAD, SLIPKNOT, MEGADETH, ANTHRAX and other acts. During this time the VOLBEAT songs were streamed almost three billion times, the band was able to earn a Grammy nomination for ‘Best Metal Performance’ for the track ‘Room 24’ (feat. King Diamond) from the highly acclaimed and gold-refined album ‘Outlaw Gentlemen & Shady Ladies’, not to mention several Danish music awards. The quartet is of course not satisfied with that: The upcoming work ‘Servant of the Mind’, written and recorded during the pandemic shutdown, increasingly turns its gaze inward, but does not hold back a bit and sounds no less loud and impulsive than previous records.

On September 23, VOLBEAT will start their first US trip in two years under the title ‘Wait A Minute… Let’s Tour’ in Orlando, which includes shows in Atlanta, San Diego and Los Angeles. The band also recently announced a co-headlining tour of US arenas with Ghost in 2022. TWIN TEMPLE will be there as a special guest, among others in Seattle, Denver, Chicago, Houston and Phoenix.

Since the band was founded in 2021, VOLBEAT have worked their way up from the Copenhagen clubs to the world’s largest stages. This includes the famous Telia Parken stadium in Denmark, which VOLBEAT have been able to sell out as the only national act to date. In the course of seven highly decorated album releases, VOLBEAT were able to garner numerous number one placements (about eight times the top position in the US mainstream rock charts), multi-platinum honours and countless awards such as a Grammy nomination. The last album ‘Rewind, Replay, Rebound’ was released in August 19 and contains the hit singles ‘Last Day Under The Sun’, ‘Die To Live’ (feat. Neil Fallon) and ‘Leviathan’. On the following world tour, ‘Rewind, Replay, Rebound: Live in Germany’ was recorded and released in November 2020. Just recently, VOLBEAT contributed their version of ‘Don’t Tread on Me’ to the Metallica Blacklist. All income from this will go to the All Within My Hands Foundation and the Danish Børne Cancer Fonden.

‘Servant Of The Mind’ Standard Edition Tracklist
01. Temple of Ekur
02. Wait A Minute My Girl
03. The Sacred Stones
04. Shotgun Blues
05. The Devil Rages On
06. Say No More
07. Heaven’s Descent
08. Dagen Før (feat. Stine Bramsen)
09. The Passenger
10. Step Into Light
11. Becoming
12. Mindlock
13. Lasse’s Birgitta

Deluxe 2 CD/2 LP and Digital Deluxe Bonus Tracks
14. Return To None (Wolfbrigade cover)
15. Domino (The Cramps/Roy Orbison cover)
16. Shotgun Blues (feat. Dave Matrise from Jungle Rot)
17. Dagen Før (Michael Vox Version)

Vinyl versions (Europe)
Standard 180g black vinyl 2 LP
Crystal Clear 2 LP, exclusive, limited to 2,000
Glow In The Dark 2 LP, EMP exclusive, limited to 2,000
Orange and Blue 2 LP, UMG exclusive, limited to 3,100
Danish Red and White 2 LP – only available in Denmark, limited to 2,000 /
Source. Press Release

Related Articles

You are here: Home News Releases VOLBEAT - Announce new studio album “Servant Of The Mind” to be released 3 December 2021 via Universal Music