Search Event Tickets

Buy Music & Merch!

Nuclear Blast Online Shop


Event Calendar

May 2023
1 2 3 4 5 6 7
8 9 10 11 12 13 14
15 16 17 18 19 20 21
22 23 24 25 26 27 28
29 30 31 1 2 3 4

Latest Events

No events
laibach thesoundofmusic
LAIBACH have shared a new track from their eagerly awaited album, ‘The Sound of Music’, out on Mute on 23 November 2018 on vinyl, CD and digitally. Watch the video for ‘My Favorite Things’, edited by Tomislav Gang and Luka Karlin with live shots taken from LAIBACH’s premiere of ‘The Sound of Music’ at Steirischer Herbst festival in Graz, Austria:

First performed during LAIBACH’s historic performance in North Korea, the track has become a new fan favourite after featuring in the LAIBACH’s live set over recent years. This follows the launch of the title track from ‘The Sound of Music’, recently described by MOJO as 'Bold!”. ‘The Sound of Music’ was conceived when LAIBACH were infamously invited to perform in North Korea in 2015. The band performed several songs from the 1965 film’s soundtrack at the concert in Pyongyang, chosen by LAIBACH as it’s a well-known and beloved film in the DPRK and often used by schoolchildren to learn English. Laibach are joined by Boris Benko and Marina Mårtensson on vocals and the album gives the LAIBACH treatment to tracks such as ‘My Favorite Things’, ‘Edelweiss’, ‘Do-Re-Mi’ and ‘Maria’, here reworked as ‘Maria / Korea’ (“How do you solve a problem like Maria / Korea?”).

While the majority of the tracks on the album are from the film, the band also included ‘Arirang’, an interpretation of a traditional Korean folk song considered the unofficial national anthem of both North and South Korea (and released recently to mark the historic summit in Singapore between President Donald Trump and the leader of North Korea, Kim Jong-un), as well as their own workout of the Gayageum, a traditional Korean zither-like string instrument performed by students from the Kum Song Music School in Pyongyang and a recording of the band’s “welcome” speech to Korea from Mr. Ryu from the Democratic People’s Republic of Korea Committee for Cultural Relations.

LAIBACH’s performance in North Korea was documented by director, artist and cultural diplomat, Morten Traavik in the film Liberation Day (described by MOJO as “a humorous, disturbing, illuminating and sometimes moving immersion into an anomalous communist mirror-world …”) which is out now via iTunes following its screening for Storyville on BBC4. The album was recorded and produced in Ljubljana, Slovenia and in Pyongyang, DPRK and represents another successful collaboration between LAIBACH and Silence (Primož Hladnik and Boris Benko), who previously co-created LAIBACH’s 2006 ‘Volk’ album. The cover was created by Valnoir, who has previously collaborated with LAIBACH and oversaw visuals across the band’s North Korean project. Valnoir explains, LAIBACH and NSK have been without any doubt the most influential artists in my career. And since I was in charge of most of the visual elements for LAIBACH’s North Korean project, it was both logical and easy for me to dive into this fantastic and monumental project!”

The Sound Of Music Tracklisting
01. The Sound of Music
02. Climb Ev’ry Mountain
03. Do-Re-Mi
04. Edelweiss
05. Favorite Things
06. Lonely Goatherd
07. Sixteen Going On Seventeen
08. So Long, Farewell
09. Maria / Korea
10. Arirang
11. The Sound of Gayageum
12. Welcome Speech

Over 35 years on from their genesis in the then-Yugoslavian industrial town Trbovlje, LAIBACH are still the most internationally acclaimed band to have come out of the former Communist countries of Eastern and Central Europe. Founded in the death year of the country’s founding father Tito, and rising to fame as Yugoslavia steered towards self-destruction, LAIBACH can make you think, dance and march to the same music.

Source: Mute Records

Related Articles

You are here: Home News Releases LAIBACH - Share “My Favorite Things” taken from “The Sound Of Music”