RoD header

godsmack lightingupthesky
Multi-platinum, Grammy-nominated Hard Rock band GODSMACK announced their eighth studio album, ‘Lighting Up The Sky’, due out February 24, 2023 via BMG, available to pre-order here. The release follows the globally acclaimed gold-certified 2018 album ‘When Legends Rise’, which had four straight #1 singles in the US.

Co-produced by vocalist / guitarist Sully Erna and Andrew “Mudrock” Murdock (AVENGED SEVENFOLD, ALICE COOPER), ‘Lighting Up the Sky’ is a testament to powerful storytelling. “I like it when an album takes you on a journey from start to finish. I quickly realized that this is about telling the full story of a man, with all its ups and downs. I think it’s a story that everyone can relate to on a human level because we’ve all been through something in life.” The album tells of falling in love, the obstacles in relationships and the polarized political climate, the state of the world, betrayals, connections, setbacks and more. It also deals with the idea of legacy, with what we leave behind; Appropriate to the fact that Erna has repeatedly emphasized that ‘Lighting Up The Sky’ could be the band’s last studio album.

01. You And I
02. Red White & Blue
03. Surrender
04. What About Me
05. Truth
06. Hell’s Not Dead
07. Soul On Fire
08. Let’s Go!
09. Best Of Times
10. Growing Old
11. Lighting Up The Sky

Alongside the album announcement, the band also released the album’s opener ‘You And I’, which you can listen to at Spotify or Apple Music. The track follows the first single release, ‘Surrender’, which has reached over five million streams and is currently number 1 on the Active Rock Radio charts in the US.

With a career spanning more than 20 years and numerous chart successes, the Boston Rock band have established themselves as the Hard Rock titans of the 21st century. To date, GODSMACK has had eleven #1 singles on US mainstream Rock radio, including ‘Bulletproof’, ‘Unforgettable’, ‘When Legends Rise’ and ‘Under Your Scars’, all from their latest album ‘When Legends Rise’. They have also had 20 top 10 hits in this format - the most since February 1999 - as well as four Grammy nominations and were named ‘Artist of the Year’ at the 2001 Billboard Music Awards. The band has sold over 20 million records worldwide and released seven studio albums: ‘Godsmack’ (1998), ‘Awake’ (2000), ‘Faceless’ (2003), ‘IV’ (2006), ‘The Oracle’ (2010), ‘1000hp’ (2014) and ‘When Legends Rise’ (2018).

The Massachusetts-based quartet consisting of Sully Erna (vocals, guitar), Tony Rombola (guitar), Robbie Merrill (bass) and Shannon Larkin (drums) deliver another classic hit album with their eighth studio album ‘Lighting Up the Sky’ and thus continues the triumphal procession of a rightly celebrated career.

Source: Press Release

Comments powered by CComment