RoD header


annekevangiersbergen drive
Artist: Anneke van Giersbergen
Title: Drive
Genre: Alternative / Progressive / Rock
Release Date: 23rd September 2013
Label: Inside Out Music

Album Review

Anneke van Giersbergen is back! The former front woman of one of the best progressive rock bands within the last two decades, THE GATHERING, now releases her new album ‘Drive’. 2012’s ‘Everything is Changing’ was something of a milestone in Anneke’s solo career (which started in 2007). The album, which was the first to be released under her own name without the Agua de Annique moniker, got her nominated for two Edison awards – Holland’s most prestigious music prize – in the categories “Best Female Artist” and “Best Album” and led her to a world tour with shows in over 25 countries. Along the way Anneke found even time to collaborate with bands e.g. ANATHEMA (Falling Deeper), DEVIN TOWNSEND (Addicted!, Epicloud) and fellow WITHIN TEMPTATION (Black Symphony).

With the release of ‘Drive’, Anneke van Giersbergen shows once more her qualities. The album is a smack in the face right from the beginning. Although autumn found its way into life, the album sounds with every streak like the last warm days of a hot summer. The melodies are well composed and quite catchy. As usual, Anneke van Giersbergen’s voice is the outstanding mark within the songs. Whether there’s a rock song or a ballad… she’s quite able to bewitch the audience due to her singing skills. For fans of female rock bands there’s no other choice than to buy this release, open-minded people definitely should try out (if they don´t even know her from the times of THE GATHERING!). There are just two things to criticize: The album is way (!) too short (I just can´t get enough) and could be a little bit more diversified.


01 We Live On
02 Treat Me Like A Lady
03 She
04 Drive
05 My Mother Said
06 Forgive Me
07 You Will Never Change
08 Mental Jungle
09 Shooting For The Stars
10 The Best Is Yet To Come


Anneke van Giersbergen – vocals, guitar
Gijs Coolen – guitar
Ferry Duijsens – guitar
Joost van Haaren – bass
Annelies Kuijsters – keyboards, backing vocals
Rob Snijders – drums

Website /

Cover Picture

annekevangiersbergen drive


Music: 9
Sound: 10
Extras: -
Total: 9.5 / 10

Comments powered by CComment