RoD header


Knust, Hamburg, Germany
19th November 2010
Diary of Dreams, dAVOS

On 19th November, DIARY OF DREAMS had a stop in Hamburg on their current "Ego:X" tour. The concert took place at the nice venue Knust. The evening, however, started with the support band dAVOS.


DAVOS from Vienna were founded in 2004 by Gerd Hall (music), Michael Ruin (music) and Eric Nelson (vocals). Over the years they released some EPs and an album on different labels. Currently, the next album is being worked on.

Music & Performance
At 8:45 PM the lights went down and the two guys of DAVOS entered the stage. Normally, the band consists of three guys but this time they played only as a duo because Gerd Hall was missing for unknown reasons. The venue already was well-filled and the people enjoyed the easy listening synth pop of dAVOS. The set included seven songs, starting with the slow-building ‘What I Prefer’ and after about 30 minutes and playing of the closing act ‘Lass es sein’, they left the stage and thus cleared the space for the evening’s headlining act.

01. What I Prefer
02. Illuminate
03. These Days
04. For Heaven's Sake
05. My New Pearl
06. Decline
07. Lass es sein

Music: 6
Performance: 6
Sound: 8
Light: 7
Total: 6.5 / 10

Diary of Dreams

Since 1989, DIARY OF DREAMS enchants a still growing fan base all over the world with beautiful and at times fragile tunes. Already 1.5 years after ‘Nekrolog 43’, the latest album ‘(if)’ was released on 13th March 2009. In October 2009, the ‘King of Nowhere’ MCD including a brand new video clip has been released. The upcoming album ‘Ego:X’ is in the works and the song ‘Echo In Me’, which fans can download for whatever price they see fit, already is part of the current setlist amongst others.. /

Music & Performance
After the changeover, the lights went out and after the spoken intro the band members entered the stage hidden in the dark, welcomed by the crowd with a lot of applause. The stage was very small and the band members barely had enough space to move up there. Quickly, the spark went over to the crowd and DIARY OF DREAMS dominated the venue with their charismatic and powerful performance. The setlist included a lot of well-known songs like ‘The Wedding’, ‘Chemicals’ or ‘Soul Stripper’, completed by some new songs which will be included on the upcoming album. The sound and light show were great, the mood was very good and the crowd was dancing and singing along the whole time. After about 90 minutes, the band announced the last song with ‘Kindrom’. After finishing that song, the band left the stage.

Of course, the crowd requested an encore and DIARY OF DREAMS had to come back. The first encore was an acoustic set and consisted of four wonderful acoustic versions of ‘O'Brother Sleep’, ‘The Curse’, ‘Giftraum’ and ‘Traumtänzer’. Again, the band left the stage but the crowd requested another encore and they came back for three more songs before they eventually left the stage for good after ‘She and her Darkness’. Altogether, it was a great concert experience at a nice location.

01. Nekrolog 43
02. The Wedding
03. Echo in me
04. Odyssey Asylum
05. Hypo)crypticK(al
06. Splinter
07. King Of Nowhere
08. Choir Hotel
09. Immerdar
10. The Darkest Of All Hours
11. UnWanted
12. Undividable
13. 21 Grams Of Nothing
14. The Chain
15. The Plague
16. Chemicals
17. Kindrom
18. O'Brother Sleep
19. The Curse
20. Giftraum
21. Traumtänzer
22. MenschFeind
23. Soul Stripper
24. She and her Darkness

Music: 10
Performance: 10
Sound: 9
Light: 9
Total: 9.7 / 10

All pictures by Daniela Vorndran ( / /

See also (all categories):

Comments powered by CComment