RoD header


doro undermyskin
Artist: Doro
Title: Under My Skin (A Fine Selection Of Doro)
Genre: Heavy Metal/ Power Metal/ Hard Rock
Release Date: 6th July 2012
Label: AFM Records

Album Review

Does DORO PESCH need an introduction? Because if you’ve not heard of her, then you must have been hidden in seclusion, or maybe you just don’t care about Heavy Metal, though in that case I hope you’ll make an exception for this legendary Metal female singer, who has been devoted to heavy music for about quarter of a century when HM was still pretty much a men-only club. And if you think it should be so still I hope you will be donated to museum as the unmissed link.

‘Under My Skin (A Fine Selection Of Doro)’ is a wonderful compilation - one of those taken out for an anniversary. The retrospective is not done in an exhaustive way, but one that doesn’t even begin to bore. Those who love DORO will find many of their own personal favourites and will probably miss out on others, but enough to offer other songs, maybe more ignored in the past, to a new and fresh listen.  To those who may be really new to her, it’s a great way to introduce her, it shows of her diversity – from rocking out, softer and balladic to kick ass metal ones, and is a superb choice regarding a finer tuned quality too. I’m usually not a big fan of the “best-of’s” but this is an exception with the way it’s tastefully done and comes together as something that results in uplifting in the way the songs had been selected so as a whole it picks up on mood, and with the disc 2 it also shows off some interesting versions.


01. All We Are
02. You’re My Family
03. I Rule The Ruins
04. Celebrate
05. The Night Of The Warlock
06. Strangers Yesterday
07. Walking With The Angels
08. Metal Tango
09. Thunderspell
10. Herzblut
11. Warrior Soul
12. My Majesty
13. Für Immer
14. Love Me In Black
15. Always Live To Win
16. Running From The Devil
17. Above The Ashes
18. Let Love Rain On Me

01. Celebrate (Full Metal Female Version)
02. Rescue Me
03. Rare Diamond (Acoustic Version)
04. Angel In The Dark
05. 1999
06. In Liebe Und Freundschaft
07. I lay My Head Upon My Sword
08. Tausend Mal gelebt
09. Wildfire
10. Breaking The Law
11. She’s Like Thunder (Version 2005)
12. The Queen
13. You Won My Love
14. Lonely Wolf


Doro Pesch – vocals
Nick Douglas – bass
Bas Maas – guitars
Johnny Dee – drums
Luca Princiotta – guitars, keyboards

Websites /

Cover Picture

doro undermyskin


Music: 8
Sound: 9
Total: 8.5 / 10

Comments powered by CComment