RoD header


FZW, Dortmund, Germany
13th December 2009
Doro, Krypteria, Merendine Atomiche

Last time I’ve seen DORO PESCH in May, she presented to her numerous fans a show satisfying all their wishes according to the reactions she got. Her program this Sunday evening should be the contrast program to the ice cold weather that’s taken control now.

Merendine Atomiche

The thrash metal band MERENDINE ATOMICHE from Italian city Cittadella was born in February of 1995. After some difficulties to build a steady line-up, the first demo album with four songs in Italian was released in December of 1997. In 1999, MERENDINE ATOMICHE recorded a METALLICA tribute album. In the following years, the band released a mini-album ‘The holy metal’ in 2000 as well as the full-length albums ‘Walk across fire’ in 2003 and ‘Raw’ in 2006. For the release of the new album, MERENDINE ATOMICHE, who had no label behind them before, signed with Locomotive Records and in April 2009 the new album ‘Rude Rebel Brotherhood’ was issued. The MERENDINE ATOMICHE is Luca Zandarin (vocals), Luca Securo (guitar), David Bisson (guitar), Dario Bianchi (bass) and Luca Cerardi (drums). /

Music & Performance
I think that, just like me, hardly one of the other attendees heard the name of this band let alone heard the music before. Anyway, they had the ungrateful honour of being this evening’s opener. They tried really hard to get at least someone to interact, but it seemed that people just wanted to wait the thing out and the response was near zero. Besides elements of Hardcore, mostly in the vocal delivery, the band presented precise, even melodic Metal that had head banging potential en masse. They just had the wrong audience I guess. But their performance, if not extraordinary, wasn’t incredibly bad either.

Music: 6
Performance: 6
Sound: 6
Light: 6
Total: 6 / 10


Actually, the history of KRYPTERIA already begins in 2003 as a musical project that released one eponymous double-album. In 2005, KRYPTERIA was re-assembled as rock band and in July of the same year released the album ‘In medias res’. On the release date of their new EP ‘Evolution Principle’, they had a rousing debut at Wacken Open Air followed by a Germany tour with SUBWAY TO SALLY in December. In 2009, their newest album ‘My Fatal Kiss’ came out at the end of August. KRYPTERIA is Ji-In Cho (vocals), Chris Siemons (guitar), Frank Stumvoll (bass) and S.C. Kuschnerus (drums). /

Music & Performance
It was a few months back at a festival that I saw KRYPTERIA for the first time where they put up an entertaining show. Would they be able to get the crowd out of their idleness? The answer is a definitive Yes! Ji’s semblance might have contributed to that either, but first and foremost that has to be credited to the energy and fun they brought on stage after she’s appeared wearing a bride’s dress. She disposed of that thing piece by piece during the opening ‘Shoot Me’ revealing another, more suitable one. The show then went on with ‘Sweet Revenge’ presenting a bridge, sung in Latin and the fiery ‘Ignition’. Finally you saw some heads nodding to the song and a deserved applause now sounded after each song of the eight tracks long set that ended with the title track of the band’s current album ‘My Fatal Kiss’. The so far loudest applause bid the band farewell when leaving the stage.

01. Shoot Me
02. Sweet Revenge
03. Ignition
04. Somebody save me
05. Scream
06. Never Say Die
07. For You I’ll bring the Devil Down
08. My Fatal Kiss

Music: 7
Performance: 8
Sound: 7
Light: 7
Total: 7.3 / 10


DORO started her career being a singer of the bands SNAKEBITE and WARLOCK. Her debut solo release under the DORO moniker made her famous way beyond the borders of Germany where she’s coming from. Collaborations with such artists as Jürgen Engler (DIE KRUPPS), Lemmy Kilmister (MOTÖRHEAD) for instance clearly underpin her diversity and the standing she has not only in the Rock scene as these guys really wouldn’t work with anybody. On 13th December 2008, she celebrated her 25th anniversary together with 8,000 fans and famous guests. After the appetizers ‘Night of The Warlock’ and ‘Herzblut’ her new album ‘Fear No Evil’ hit the shops at the end of January 2009. DORO Live is Doro (vocals), Joe Taylor (guitar), Oliver Palotai (guitar, keys), Nick Douglas (bass), and Johnny Dee (drums). This time, Joe on guitar was replaced by Bas Maas of ex-AFTER FOREVER. /

Music & Performance
The “Queen of Hard Rock”, as she’s called often, was now close to start her show and meanwhile the number of attendees had doubled I’d say, and all could hardly wait to see her again. Thus, the joy was big when she finally came as the last one after her band, enthusiastically welcoming her dear fans and starting with the ‘Earthshaker Rock’. That song had just started and she was already incredibly busy hyping up the crowd to raise their horns, to scream along with her and just have fun. She also kept mentioning how happy she was being back on “home” territory again meeting with overly positive reaction from the fans, just like when ‘You’re My Family’ started, obviously being dedicated to them. After that, ‘Running from the Devil’ and a true classic ‘Burning the Witches’ pumped some more adrenaline into the masses.

Later on, ‘I Lay My Head upon My Sword’ made pretty clear what she’s thinking about war and the fans completely agreed with her for that matter. Also they were very fond of the next song ‘Für Immer’ which they kept singing along to. During ‘Haunted Heart’ the entire band at some point left the stage except for drummer Johnny Dee. He now impressed with a several minutes lasting solo drum improvisation before returning to the main rhythm of the track, coinciding with the complete band returning to the action. A cover version of a song from her first band WARLOCK ‘All We Are’ ended the main set. However, the fans wanted more and would become several more songs before having to get back out into the ice cold night. They most likely haven’t felt that though, thanks to them still being heated up by the past show.

01. Earthshaker Rock
02. I Rule the Ruins
03. You’re My Family
04. Running from the Devil
05. Burning the Witches
06. Night of the Warlock
07. Burn It Up
08. True as Steel
09. Above the Ashes
10. I Lay My Head upon My Sword
11. Für Immer
12. Haunted Heart
13. Drum Solo
14. Haunted Heart (Cont.)
15. Metalracer
16. Herzblut
17. We Are the Metalheads
18. Breaking the Law
19. All We Are
20. On The Run
21. Alles Ist Gut
22. Hellbound
23. Fight For Rock
24. Always Live To Win
25. Fight
26. Love Me in Black

Music: 7
Performance: 8
Sound: 8
Light: 7
Total: 7.5 / 10

All pictures by Daniela Vorndran ( / /

See also (all categories):

Comments powered by CComment