RoD header


epica retrospect
Artist: Epica
Title: Retrospect
Genre: Symphonic Metal
Release Date: 8th November 2013
Label: Nuclear Blast

Album Review

Holland homes some great bands, one of them is EPICA. ‘Retrospect’ is a marking stone of a decade in their career. It’s taken from the show in March of this year in Eindhoven where fans from around the world assembled to watch them. Of course there’s a DVD and it’s released on all the modern times’ expected formats, even a deluxe hardcover book alas this review concerns only the audio release. I fail to see their usefulness – beyond giving a whiff of concert’s atmosphere, yet with lacking visuals this really doesn’t differ much from band to band – is there really a difference between fans chanting “Epica” or “Metallica” or any other bands’ name? Some singers interact with their audience more and some less but this feels more relevant when you’re there and it’s not a second hand experience. How long do you want to hear repeated semi-dialogue anyhow? The visuals are where you can make a difference and DVDs are so much more worth of getting than mere audios as this is a collection of best of’s that fans can assemble by themselves on iPods, mp3 players and so on. Well, if you can’t be bothered to personalise your list of favourites it’s still a truly good stuff to indulge in indeed. Christmas is coming...


01. Introspect
02. Monopoly on Truth
03. Sensorium
04. Unleashed
05. Martyr of the Free Word
06. Chasing the Dragon
07. Presto
08. Never Enough
09. Stabat Mater Dolorosa
10. Twin Flames
11. Serenade of Self-Destruction
12. Orchestral Medley
13. The Divine Conspiracy. Anniversary Edition 
14. Delirium
15. Blank Infinity
16. The Obsessive Devotion
17. Retrospect
18. Battle of the Heroes & Imperial March
19. Quietus
20. The Phantom Agony
21. Cry for the Moon
22. Sancta Terra
23. Design Your Universe
24. Storm the Sorrow
25. Consign to Oblivion
26. Outrospect


Simone Simons – vocals
Mark Jansen – guitars & vocals
Coen Janssen – synths & piano
Isaac Delahaye – guitars
Ariën van Wesenbeek – drums
Rob van der Loo – bass

Websites / /

Cover Picture

epica retrospect


Music: 8
Sound: 8
Total: 8 / 10

See also (all categories):

Comments powered by CComment