RoD header


Title: Massive Audio Nerve
Artist: M.A.N
Genre: Nu Metal
Release Date: 26th March 2010
Label: Tiefdruck Musik

Album Review

Swedish M.A.N have been founded in 2007 from the ashes of TRANSPORT LEAGUE and released their first record ‘Obey, Consume, Reject’ in the very same year. With their forthcoming, third record ‘Massive Audio Nerve’ they want to work their way up.

‘Logocide’ opens up the album and leaves no doubt about the direction, towards which the band is veering: straight-forward, fast yet catchy Nu Metal. Unusual rhythmic elements are included as well as fast drumming. Comparisons to bands such as STATIC X or SLIPKNOT are surely not out of place. The second song eventually includes a melodic chorus, whilst ‘Don’t Wake Up’ is dominated by the mostly shouted, aggressive, modern vocals. ‘False Memory Syndrome 1’ is built up on a rather simple ground rhythm; some really soft or whispered vocals are added to create a rather dark, industrial atmosphere.

In general, the tempo on ‘Massive Audio Nerve’ does not vary very much; the songs are mostly pretty fast and in-the-face, although slower elements are adjoined. At times, parts appear rather predictable and repetitive, but on the other hand, no big experiments are accomplished. It is audible, that lots of effort has been put into this record, nevertheless, some songs only seem like makeshifts. Yet open-minded fans of metal or nu metal in general should give this album a listen, since especially the vocals are presented in a diversified way.


01. Logocide
02. Identical Abuse
03. Don’t Wake Up
04. False Memory Syndrome 1
05. Loveless
06. Vivid Heart
07. Slave Program
08. Mock At My Motion
09. False Memory Syndrome 2
10. Dead Set
11. Last Light Drains


Tony JJ - Vocals
Rod Guz - Guitar
Engberg - Drums
Rob Hakemo - Bass

Website /

Cover Picture


Music: 7
Sound: 8
Extras: -
Total: 7.5 / 10


See also (all categories):

Comments powered by CComment