RoD header


blutengel onceinalifetime
Artist: Blutengel
Title: Once In A Lifetime (Live in Berlin)
Genre: Electro / Gothic
Release Date: 6th November 2013
Label: Out Of Line Music

Album Review

BLUTENGEL formed in 1998 and over the time they harnessed quite a good following and built a good reputation on the scene. This here is a live recordings from Berlin titled under the umbrella of ‘Once In A Lifetime’. If you take their video clips into consideration an idea forms that though they’ve recycled some genre-expected clichés they’re great to watch but yet again someone thinks that audio recordings of concerts are still a good idea. They had some meaning in the past when getting to concerts was difficult – world was still divided not only economically but politically and there was no YouTube and black market did quite nicely.

VCRs were cumbersome and visual quality was worse than sound quality especially as you wore them out – not to mention that just like tapes they got chewed up by the machine! Now in the age of DVD and Blue-Rays the audio is really forgettable and superfluous thing. I’ve said this before, so I’m on repeat. I’m hoping that soon I won’t have to and what I’ll be reviewing and what will be on offer will be the far superior DVD formats. Still, best side of the sonic cheek is turned towards the listener so if you can’t be bothered to assemble your best-offs here’s your thing then, a nice cut through their career anyhow. Or of course the super fan who must collect everything. BLUTENGEL even if at times predictable are a wonderful band to listen to under any condition.


01. Legend (Intro)
02. Nachtbringer
03. Tears Might Dry
04. Willst du
05. Vampire Romance
06. All These Lies
07. Deine Welt
08. Das andere Ich
09. Die With You
10. What You Get
11. Lebensrichter
12. Behind The Mirror
13. Lucifer
01. Uns gehört die Nacht
02. Reich mir die Hand
03. Save Our Souls
04. You Walk Away
05. Kinder dieser Stadt
06. Ein Augenblick
07. No Eternity
08. Bloody Pleasures
09. Engelsblut
10. Monument


Chris Pohl – vocals, programming
Ulrike Goldmann– vocals

Websites /

Cover Picture

blutengel onceinalifetime


Music: 8
Sound: 8
Total: 8 / 10

See also (all categories):

Comments powered by CComment